Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

1kd d4d EGR blanking

Andykdj95

Country Flag
great_britain
can't seem to get this one out of my head! I understand that the 1kd EGR blanking plate would need a hole in it to allow turbo boost gas to escape correct ? So could you not fit a pipe through that hole and then back out the side wall of the EGR pipe (on the blanked side) with a filter on? So the EGR is blocked and the boost gas can escape? Bare in mind I'm a carpenter so please go easy on me on this one lol

Your boost is likely around 9psi and boost demands a sealed system or it cannot get up to pressure and you will have no turbo .

I haven't looked at my own d4d egr but i have to guess the the egr exits the exhaust to be recirculated in a separate place from where the boost is bled off into the same system and if that's true then a single solid plate blocking the egr at entry (on the exhaust) is what i would be aiming for leaving everything else as is .

The egr system then becomes nothing but a boost bleed and i struggle to accept the computer will shut you down because the engine is running too clean .

Its all theory on my part but i'm thinking our Ozzie friends who lead the way in this are forced to unblock the system at mot time and so they block/limit egr with a perforated plate at re-entry allowing for easy access and removal .

Your boost is likely around 9psi and boost demands a sealed system or it cannot get up to pressure and you will have no turbo .

I haven't looked at my own d4d egr but i have to guess the the egr exits the exhaust to be recirculated in a separate place from where the boost is bled off into the same system and if that's true then a single solid plate blocking the egr at entry (on the exhaust) is what i would be aiming for leaving everything else as is .

The egr system then becomes nothing but a boost bleed and i struggle to accept the computer will shut you down because the engine is running too clean .