Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

75 Series Ute Difficult Start and Draining Battery

Lozpaul

Country Flag
australia
H i Guys

I am new to the Forum as I have just purchased a 1996 75 series Ute (ex RFS vehicle 238ks) for our 3 boys 9,12 and 14 to drive manual, learn basic old school mechanics etc etc and they just love the old girl, I must say I am the same. I am having an issue though with starting and then the battery holding enough charge to crank the engine over. I have had her for the last 8 weeks and I have already had to chnage a newish battery due to the start being very labourious.

Ive just had the glow plugs replaced as they were long overdue and still the difficulty to start remains and has subsenquently drained the second "brand new" battery again, could there possibly be a simple fix to this or maybe a ground wire draining the battery.

I have basic mechanical knowledge yet am wanting to learn from you all to teach my boys what I have learnt,if you can help me I would very much appreciate it.

Cheers

Lozpaul
1996 HZJ75RP
"Charlie" The Crusier
Gresford NSW

Hi Paul,
Normally, the 1hz engine needs 1/4 turn from the starter to start.
if it needs a lot of cranking then there is something wrong.
does the battery drain because you have to crank the engine a lot to start or does the battery drain overnight because of a power loss somewhere?
does it start right away when you put in a freshly charged battery?
Does it start better after you clean the battery poles and clamps with sandpaper? This is a common issue!
If you pump the priming pump on top of the fuel filter, does it need a lot of strokes before it gets firm? Does it start better right away after pumping the priming pump?
Cheers
Firewout

Last edited:
Firewout