Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

Are 80 series factory diff lockers any good?

Dave Loh

Country Flag
australia
Hi everyone, ‍♂️
I’m looking into putting a factory diff lock in the rear of the 80. I’m told that they’re hard to come by but have managed to find one for $1500 (complete with housing/brakes/etc. so I was wondering three questions;
1. Are they any good??
2. How much traction (in comparison with an 80 series stock LSD) am I loosing while it’s in open wheel mode?
3. Is that a good price (Australian dollars)?

And obviously any tips when looking at it would be sweet as well because i’ve never had a locker in any of my cars before so i’m completely new to them.
Cheers!

Yes rear lockers are a fantastic piece of kit. All depends on your type of travel of course. A lot of the time, an LSD performs well, but they wear with miles of course. If you're prone to the deep stuff then rear lockers are a must. But, for simplicity, I'd consider an air locker.

If it was me i would keep the lsd (service it) and put the money into a front locker. That way you have a tripple locked cruiser for the price of one.

Lsd will kick in when its need so some occations are better then a locker if you forget to lock or dont think its needed

Yes rear lockers are a fantastic piece of kit. All depends on your type of travel of course. A lot of the time, an LSD performs well, but they wear with miles of course. If you're prone to the deep stuff then rear lockers are a must. But, for simplicity, I'd consider an air locker.

Thanks Chris,
Yeah i’ve had a look at air lockers but with the amount of air leak stories i’ve heard and the price of them fitted i’m not too keen at the moment. The advantage of this one is that it’s in a diff housing already with all the bits on it so it’s just a matter of taking the old hiusing off and bolting the new one up. :wink: