Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

Check engine light, code 33 (LC95 1kz)

AndrewG88

Good day guys,

I have spent a good month researching on code 33 (intake constrictor control signal) for the 1kz. I have found nothing that helps my situation. I looked on old threads from this forum and others and tried downloading the manuals with no avail. Please I am asking for help especially from the pros. P.S I am not a professional and I just recently bought the LC, cause i wanted one for a very long time as a project vehicle .

My story goes like this:
The cruiser had a long period of start up, the mechanic suggested it was the glow plugs, we changed it, it started up fine when cold but when warm it would take a few cranks. But in the process he made the check engine light came up, since he is not experienced with land cruisers he blamed that something was wrong with my sensors and it was not a part of his fault. He did many battery resets and i did not approved of what he did......... So then I went on forums, i bought the vacuum switched and hoses, even checked the diaphragm (the throttle body side moves) Changed them and now I am just mind boggled.

P.S he cross threaded my bolt for the throttle body, it was a real pain in the ass to remove, I had to cut the nut off , hoping to convinced myself this was the vacuum leak that would solve the problem, but back to square one.

Thank you for reading, please help me.

Most of the vacuum related stuff on these trucks are on the back of the intake. It controls the small butterfly valve, and EGR system. Check the hoses back there that none are missing/loose. Also check the solenoids themselves too that are bolted on the back of the intake manifold that all the plugs are connected. From memory, one out of the 3 solenoids back there will trigger the check engine light. The others wont.