Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

Custom Landcruiser Build Help or am I just day dreaming

1965TLCFJ45LVWagon

Country Flag
uk
Hello everyone

I am looking for help with a custom Landcruiser build BUT I have little experience of owning a Landcruiser (hence the title of this thread). The only things I know come from reading the history of the Landcruiser on the Toyota website and various articles on a couple of forums – so please bear with me on this…

I decided to do this after a close friend bought 3 Landcruiser 60 series (not at once) and I got the chance to drive them. I then started looking online at the 40 and 60 series and found that they are very hard to get in the UK. Furthermore, the same friend has suggested driving from the UK through Africa.

I am looking to see if we can take the best parts of the various Landcruiser series and create one which is best for driving through somewhere like the African continent e.g. the chassis from an 80 series, the engine from a 60 series, etc… brand new braking system, … etc…

As such, I have a few questions which I have outlined below and would be grateful if I could get some answers or suggestions:

1. What is the difference between overlanding and off-roading? I have tried googling this but haven’t come across a decent explanation.

2. For driving in somewhere like Africa where roads might be badly worn or just dirt tracks, what would be the best chassis to start building on? I mean, what series of TLC would have the best chassis for this kind of journey.

3. What would be the most reliable engine to use ? I would prefer something which has as little electronics as possible in the hope that it is easier to maintain or repair when there are no professional service stations about. Any comments on the fuel efficiency of the earlier TLC engines vs the later ones would be greatly appreciated.