Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

Death Wobble on camera

StarCruiser

Supporter
Guru
Garage
Country Flag
uk
Found this with lots of comments below it from fellow sufferers. Looks like the whole axle shakes from side to side rather than just the steering making me think it’s bushings and panhard rod mountings though I’ve no experience of this myself. While I’m putting this up just for the visual aspect, the thing I’ve noticed is in the underneath shot, there seems to be no trailing arm in the front bracket on the axle in the right of the picture. It appears that the bolt is visible. It doesn’t make sense to me but if it’s the case then no wonder the thing is shaking.

Mine was doing this after a 5" lift and it was insufficient castor correction. Coupled with both the upper panard mount and steering box mount were cracked. So they were pivoting on the chassis, in the video you can see the steering damper is moving the most. Very scary when it happens and I took the truck off the road as I was too scared to drive it! Sorted the problems and it's been golden ever since!

I don't need this at 80mph hence i went for a body lift .

Never had an issue and the 80 goes more then 70mph at times.

I want the height without the issues Gary so a smaller suspension lift will follow , but do think i can now find a quick and convenient heavy duty 3" lift kit ......................

Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them
I don't need this at 80mph hence i went for a body lift .

Good move mate.. I don't think it was the lift that caused the chassis cracks, there was rust running out of them. It was that between the steering box and chassis was very rusty.

If I was to buy another 80 then I'd take the steering box off to check the condition between the chassis. As it's a known issue and they're getting on now!