Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

Engine tapping when cold

Lolly B

Country Flag
uk
Hi
My 3.0L D4D has started tapping when cold only for a few minutes then ok until next morning it has done 8oK
Any thoughts Lolly B

Could simply be the oil is a bit on the cold side and thick. Not sure if the d4d has hydraulic tappers but these can do this. Also any engine when cold is going to complain a bit. Without hearing it, it's hard to tell but I would expect it to be normal and go away when the weather warms up. It doesn't hurt to run it and get a bit of heat through before setting off on really cold mornings. 80k, that's just run in so you shouldn't have anything to worry about. Do your usual checks of engine and trans oil and if low top up.

I'd be interested to hear from others on this but I would say it's normal though I have no experience of that engine.

Could simply be the oil is a bit on the cold side and thick. Not sure if the d4d has hydraulic tappers but these can do this. Also any engine when cold is going to complain a bit. Without hearing it, it's hard to tell but I would expect it to be normal and go away when the weather warms up. It doesn't hurt to run it and get a bit of heat through before setting off on really cold mornings. 80k, that's just run in so you shouldn't have anything to worry about. Do your usual checks of engine and trans oil and if low top up.

I'd be interested to hear from others on this but I would say it's normal though I have no experience of that engine.

If its of any comfort, my old 80 (410k km) sounds like a can of dried peas on first start up when very cold, but it calms down a bit when the oil gets pumped up to the cam.

If it doesn’t tick or tap when warm, it sounds like tappet adjustment (if there is such a thing on a D4d) is OK.

Of course as @StarCruiser commented, its hard to say without hearing it first hand (or should that be ear?)...