Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

Few questions :)

HiX123

Country Flag
australia
Hey guys, Land Cruiser / Mechanical noob here so forgive me if I use the wrong terminology or any of my questions are a bit out there.

About 3 months ago, I purchased my first landcruiser, decided I'd get an 80 series and ideally I wanted a turbo diesel. So onto gumtree I went, after weeks of searching I finally found advertised a "1HDT 80 series" with just about everything rebuilt (Diffs, Transfer, Gearbox, Engine).

First of my problems (or just wanting to find out what I actually have...) A few people that have looked at my cruiser have told me it's in fact a 1HZ however the original owner had receipts and everything for the parts needed for a rebuild for a 1HDT, could anyone tell me how on earth I'd be able to tell what engine I actually have in my car? I have a receipt from the previous owner for a 1hz block but everything else seems to be 1HDT on the second lot of receipts.

Secondly, I was recently told by friends driving with me that I was puffing out a bit of white smoke as I was accelerating. I went home and gave it a good rev and she sooted a tiny bit and then spread into more of a white/gray colour. (I don't believe it's been tuned for the turbo so maybe not getting enough, or getting too much fuel) Is this normal? I notice it a lot driving at night when I have a set of headlights behind me, it seems to be just before it comes onto boost that it smokes then once on boost she settles down. I also noticed that when idling at traffic lights or stopped somewhere she's puffing smoke but again, I only see it in certain lighting. Is this just a normal diesel thing? I've been told a tune would fix it but I don't know enough about this stuff to say!