Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

HDJ80R power steering reservoir

phil howell

Hi guys i'm a newbie on here but not a newbie to landcruisers,having a problem with the power steering oil reservoir,it seems to becoming pressurized and leaving a mist of fluid over the engine ?,any help would be greatly appreciated,Phil.

Hey Phil,

Welcome to the club :thumbup:

I have a similar problem on my cruiser, that my reservoir leaks PS fluid when hot, not quite a spray though, but after inspecting the rubber gasket on the PS tank cap i have noticed that it's rock hard which would explain why it is no longer providing a decent seal on the tank... Could be that this is your problem too.

I would suggest either replacing the cap (I think the part no. is 44305?35010, best to confirm with Ian Rubie who is on here and the resident parts supplier/ :ugeek:) , or gasket at least( Not sure this is available separately though) with a new one and go from there, providing you are not having any other problems with your PS.

Let us know how you get on.

Cheers
Ryan

Ryan,many thanks for your reply,i will try a new seal and let you know the outcome,
and many thanks for the welcome,cheers mate,Phil.

Welcome - let us know how you get on - most things can be fixed, and there some great men and women on the forum to help you.

Hi Phil,
Was talking to another member couple of weeks ago, he was telling me that the res is of two parts the bowl part then the top. You will see what i mean when you look at it.

The top is just crimped to the bottom. Try to recrimp it. May be the answer with no money having to be spent :thumbup:

And welcome to the forum

karl

Hi guys,
Thanks to you all both for the advice and the friendly welcome,thanks again,Phil. :thumbup:

Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them