Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

Headlight upgrade

Landcruising

Hi all,

I would like to upgrade my headlights on my 125 (2006).

I am a total beginner with cars, and just wondered if you could advise me on which bulbs to get that would suit my four wheels?

Are they easy to install?

I am after bulbs that can provide much better all round illumination, as I am based in Africa, and lots of people spend a lot of the time walking in the roads at night!

Thanks for your help.

Rich

Check the manual for the size and fitting spec. Then get the best you can in that spec.

You are likely looking for a pair of H4 . The osram night breaker and silverstar series are rumoured to be quite good.

Then make sure you stay within legal limits.

I replaced to OEM bulbs with nightbreakers that didn't make it though a Scottish winter. Then fitted the Philips Extreme which were excellent - good consistent spread and good light. And didn't give up when it got cold outside ..

I've replaced mine with LEDs from
www.woodypeck.com
Steve is really helpful and his service is superb.

There's another thread on here I think about Clive's HID upgrade that has some photos. There's now a choice of lamps as the technology is moving on very quickly. I ended up changing my originals to a later version which have a good beam pattern but not such a straight cut off as the originals but they are a tad brighter. There is a significant improvement over filament lamps and the colour is whiter.
A word of warning though, there are good ones and bad ones in the market. The Woodypeck ones are around £65 a set now but you will find others much less…they are cheap copies.

:text-+1: For Steve at www.woodypeck.com I have his LED's in my 80 and they are a great improvement over the HID's I had in previously.