Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

Help to consider amount of rust

Joakim Forøysund

Country Flag
norway
Hello all! This is my first post here. I consider to buy a 1998 Land Cruiser 90 after dreaming about Land Cruisers for several years. The one I’m looking at needs som work, but it shouldn’t be too much. I’m not experienced in assessing frames with regards to rust, but this one seems to be in overall good shape for my untrained eye. I have not yet used any tools to see if the rust comes loose. Is there anything the more experienced of you can say about this? I took pictures of the worst parts. Any guidance is appreciated!

42175284-7DE7-4D74-A97A-4091EB93DEFD.jpeg 8A56D506-B9C3-4C42-A4FC-63167B03D849.jpeg 4092BAC2-C895-42D6-9BFC-E5511D88546E.jpeg 065792E8-7F06-4386-B177-9C902AAD280A.jpeg E5E9E915-9A0C-4A33-8A16-3C965977D183.jpeg

This is the automatic transmissions oil cooler. The brown ring around the tube - is that rust or a protruding gasket? I believe this cooler should be replaced. Any thoughts on this?

0A17A5E3-69B5-4814-B222-6FCA007DC9A4.jpeg

Hi Joakim looks to me like you found that one in good time to save it so long as you plan to clean up the rust and get busy with a paint brush .

I don't know much about auto's but if its a 1kz-te engine radiators rotting internally letting coolant into the gearbox is a known problem with them so your wise to be suspect .

Probably wants new shocks and new bushes all around to just so you know what your getting yourself into .

Thanks Shayne! Yes, Bushings and probably shocks need some attention. One stabilizer link is rusted completely off in front. The coolant pipes for the rear heater need to be replaced, and the rear diff seal is leaky. Some work is definitely required, but I suspect this is a chance to get a decent Land Cruiser for a reasonable price.

More questions to come, I’m sure. Any further advice on this topic is appreciated :)