Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

High School Portal Project

UNWORTHYPOTATO

Country Flag
united_states
I am a high school student attending Eaglecrest High School and I am working on an engineering project in which I will design a bolt-on portal assembly to put on my cruiser. The only problem is that I will need accurate measurements for the front or rear axle and trunnion assemblies. If anyone has any information on where or how I can get these it would be GREATLY appreciated. (my cruiser is a 1997 FJ 80).

Reactions: uHu
Hi,
Welcome to the forum.

Sounds like a great project. You’ve got a big job there. My suggestion would be to obtain axles from a breakers if you can, otherwise strip yours and have it laser plotted. There’s some fantastic laser scanners out there.
Tip, the existing portal conversions (on here somewhere) replace everything from the axle casing outwards, though probably retain the factory CV (Birfield) joints. Maybe steering components too.

Not sure if anyone else on here may have dimensioned drawings.

Are you going to be able to document this project on here as it would be very interesting? Good luck with it.

Hi,
Welcome to the forum.

Sounds like a great project. You’ve got a big job there. My suggestion would be to obtain axles from a breakers if you can, otherwise strip yours and have it laser plotted. There’s some fantastic laser scanners out there.
Tip, the existing portal conversions (on here somewhere) replace everything from the axle casing outwards, though probably retain the factory CV (Birfield) joints. Maybe steering components too.

Not sure if anyone else on here may have dimensioned drawings.

Are you going to be able to document this project on here as it would be very interesting? Good luck with it.

Thanks for the info, yes I can continue posting as the project goes along. I will look into the laser plot idea. thanks again for your help