Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

Hitting acceleration flat spot, then surging off

reliablerebel

Country Flag
ireland
Hi all, bear with me, newbie here. I spent the weekend trawling through old (and not so old threads) - have found similar issues in similar age LC's - 2007 DVD LC3 (I think, SWB with spare on back door) - 320,000 km
I am not a DIY'er so everytime there is an issue it goes to the garage. To be fair I have had her 11 years, only issues so far were the injectors, but as a 07 model that is not unusual.
For the last month or so I am hitting a flat spot when the engine is not warmed up, especially (actually only noticeable) going uphill or towing uphill. Doesn't have to be a steep hill, small incline will do it. I can put my foot flat to the floor and revs don't increase, can get up to 80km/hr (not towing) until finally she surges off!! Its not a major issue, and drives very well the other 95% of the time. This does not happen every day, but a few times a week.
Into garage, changed oil, oil filter, fuel filter, air filter - ran diagnostics, got a rather vague code to do with the manifold. Which they told me I would have to take to an engine centre to get it taken apart and cleaned out. Is this very expensive, and should it be the first thing on my list of things to check.
From reading the other threads other possible issues are, in no particular order,
SCV valves (if I knew what any of these were it would help) - not sure yet if mine is long or short
MAF sensor - from what I have read cleaning them is not always enough, replacing them might be a better option?
Red and green solenoid valve (or is this the same as an SCV valve)
All the above info has been gleaned from threads and any other ideas gratefully received.
What I am asking is what order I should try these fixes?

From reading the other threads other possible issues are, in no particular order,