Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Fix it now

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

Mongaliaorbust

Country Flag
new_zealand
Hello,

I am new to the Toyota club and lets just say it has not been a smooth transition. I have been an off-road enthusiast since age 16 (now 28.) I have built several Jeeps in that time frame (please don't hate me) ranging from an overland style XJ to a highly modified TJ with Dana 60s and 40 inch tires.

I bought a 1991 Triple locked 80 with the 1HDT 313000Ks about 3 months ago in the hopes of building it as an overland rig. A month after ownership cylinder 5 melted into nothing and the head cracked. I went ahead and had the engine rebuilt. 2 days later the auto trans started slipping, and I subsequently fitted a used one, as I just could not afford a rebuild.

So far I have had terrible luck. I am now on a trip from the North of New Zealand to the South, Auckland-Queenstown (a 1500K plus trip.) I have now made it a little under half way to find differential oil covering my drivers front tire. I assume this means it is inner axle seal? There is also thick grease which I would assume is from the hub.

How concerned should I be? Can I simply top up the diff with gear oil or will the hub be damaged from the gear oil washing out the grease. It is about to be Christmas so shops will be closed and I have a very small selection of tools with me. I am not keen on doing this repair on the roadside, but I can probably source the additional tools that will be needed. I have also only ever worked on Dana differentials so this will be new to me.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Should I monitor the oil and continue my trip, or roll up my sleeves and try to tackle the job on the roadside somewhere?

Also, what are other weak points of the 80? What else can I do to make it bullet proof? What spare parts and tools should I have with me?

Thank you in advance,
Jesse