Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

Laptop help needed

joinerman

Garage
My daughter who is an artist & photographer needs a new laptop, we want to get her a new one for crimbo but are clueless on what spec to get her, She has her own website & does a lot of photo editing.

Anyone clued up enough to point in the right direction.

My daughter who is an artist & photographer needs a new laptop, we want to get her a new one for crimbo but are clueless on what spec to get her, She has her own website & does a lot of photo editing.

Anyone clued up enough to point in the right direction.
Hi
you say she needs a new laptop, but you did not say if she already has one,
I think most people who do things with pictures etc use a "Mac" I have no experience with them but if she wants a Windows based machine she need the highest processor speed, the best Ram memory and a big hard drive.
at the moment you are looking for I7 processor, 16Gig Ram, and 2x Terra bite hard drive is good spec but
it depends upon the finances

As Steve said a lot of artists etc use Mac’s but they are going to cost significantly more that a windows based equivalent spec

Ideally specify the best processor you can (i7) and a decent amount of RAM, at least 8Gb. I’d go for a reasonable sized Solid State Drive over a large capacity, these use less power and let the computer run a bit quicker accessing files.

Extra storage capacity can be added with cheap external hard drives.

As above. She would normally use an Apple Mac. Does she have any colleagues you could ask as to what she would need so you get exactly what’s needed rather than what somebody thinks she might need? You are right to ask as these things vary considerably and you could pay a lot of money for a great computer that isn’t exactly what she wants.