Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

Law on animals feeling pain, on the scrap heap?

Signed
As someone who worked in an abattoir (albeit very briefly) I can attest to the fact that animals have feelings, and understand what is happening, I came close to becoming a vegetarian

Unfortunately going to be so much legislative upheaval in the next few years I wonder how much anyone will be taking notice of these petitions? Has any legislation ever changed after debate invoked by one, even in calmer times?

Completely agree with the sentiment. And already voted to keep this law.

Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them
Yep, signed, Brian I worked as a sparks in a Walls factory, put me off pork pies for a long time.

legislative upheaval is not necessarily a bad thing. The uk does have some of the strictest animal welfare laws in the world. Where as france, Spain and the like?...

legislative upheaval is not necessarily a bad thing. The uk does have some of the strictest animal welfare laws in the world. Where as france, Spain and the like?...

...have most of the same laws given 80% of our animal welfare legislation is from the EU. They do allow gavage, which I can appreciate is contentious. But then they also recognise animals as sentient and so are about to go one up on us there.

What else do we have on them?

...have most of the same laws given 80% of our animal welfare legislation is from the EU. They do allow gavage, which I can appreciate is contentious. But then they also recognise animals as sentient and so are about to go one up on us there.

What else do we have on them?
Gavage is utterly disgusting, as is worrying and stabbing a bull until its exhausted then killing it to the roars of approval from a crowd of thousands. The uk led the way in animal welfare long before it joined the eu, as it did in many other things.