Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

Low Range Question

bigtangonovember

Country Flag
uk
Hi everyone,
I have a 1993 VX Automatic 80.
This may sound like a silly question (don’t cain me), but when I’m in low range I only can use the L gear? The vehicle won’t change to 2?
I’m new to 4WD so I’m still figuring things out.

Hi ?????
I would have thought it would change up the gears, depending what speed you do, and don't forget when in LOW the running speed will be very low.
Although I dont have the the 80, I have the 100 but would have thought it would be simular and mine changes gear in LOW in fact I can select centre diff lock in both high or low

Hi Steve,
The 80 doesn't have the centre diff lock switch as standard, at least in the UK auto model. On the UK auto 80's, the CDL locks when you go from high to low range. From what i know, the plug for the CDL switch sits behind the trim where the radio is. I think i can just buy a switch and connect it to said plug and then i can activate the CDL with the switch even when I'm in high range. For whatever reason, it wasn't a standard install on the UK auto models.
I was just curious to know if the gearbox will only stay in L gear when in low range or if it is meant to change gears. I can't seem to find any info on this online.
Cheers,
Tim

Last edited:
Is this what you are looking for Tim?
IMG_2109.JPG

Will PM you.

Yes that's the switch, however i'm not necessarily after that right now.
I am just wanting to know if the car is supposed to change gears when in low range? Mine only stays in the one gear, which i believe is L.
When i move the gear stick to 2 or D it doesn't change, at least in low range.

Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them
I've got a 1994, so let me have a look in the owners book to see what it says for L4 operation in an auto.

Hi tango, it does sound like a silly question, but we won’t cane you for it, we’ll I won’t anyway :lol: