Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

My car has developed an oil leak.

tony rodaway

Country Flag
uk
Hello guys.
This will be the first time my car has developed a problem.
It has a biggish oil leak and seems to be coming from the passenger side back of the engine.
I have checked my oil levels for engine oil and seem to be ok.
I did notice the oil colour looks lighter than engine oil and not as thick.
I have tried to find the leak but seems pointless as cant see from the top of the engine without removing everything.
I cant see under the car as it just seems to come from the back of the engine.
My only conclusion is its either the gearbox gasket failed or a o ring of somesort.
Im no mechanic so not sure what im looking for.
Any ideas guys as feel i cant drive with out topping my gearbox oil up but tgen how much do i top up with.
To much you damage the box to little you damage the box.
The engine oil sump nut is just dripping with oil but running down the back of the engine on to the engine sump.

Hi - I don’t know if yours is petrol/diesel or manual/auto. I think the first stage is to know what the fluid is.

I suppose there a few general possibilities:
1. Engine oil - tends to be dark in a Diesel engine (unless it’s new). Cleaner in petrol engines.
2. Gearbox oil - manual gbox has a distinctive smell, thicker than engine oil. Auto oil is usually reddish or brownish depending on condition.
3. Brake or clutch fluid
4. Coolant
5. Power steering
Oil leaks can look much bigger that they are because it spreads out so much but not to say you should ignore it. First step is to check all reservoirs/dipsticks and work out what the fluid is.

Any recent maintenance done?

I'd get it up some ramps, get under there with some degreaser to clean it all up then see if you can get any more clues as to where its coming from.

Hope its not the main seal, but I haven't heard of that being a problem on these?

my car is 3.0d4d auto.