Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

New 80 owner from Devon

Richard Turner

Supporter
Garage
Country Flag
uk
Hi! Bought a Land Cruiser a couple of weeks ago and looking to pick up some tips and ideas.

My name: Richard Turner
My truck: FZJ80R 4.5 auto, 121k 1996
Mods: 12v socket in the back and some tie down points for a dinghy!
Plans: To use for towing heavy loads, trailers full of logs out of muddy fields, mechanics support van, luxury motorway cruiser, and hopefully some overland in the near future!
4x4 experience: I used to own a Daihatsu Fourtrak which although was a great truck it was like driving a sort of roadgoing tractor (not as bad as a Ninety though). Using Ninety and Ford Ranger for towing and tree chopping also.

I am a Heavy Goods mechanic so handy with spanners and welder, I wanted a petrol auto truck as I drive a lot of Diesel manual trucks at work and wanted something different. Pleased with my choice of truck she is very tidy inside and underneath and drivetrain but needs some work on the body.

And very slow electric windows!

20170925_114530.jpg
20170925_114554.jpg
20170925_114629.jpg
20170925_114721.jpg

Welcome Richard.

Nice looking truck. I quite like the colour of these.

Many happy miles in front for you.

Welcome aboard Richard, nice truck!

What was that you said about 90s?

I hope it wasn't a reference to LC 90s, you'll have the @Shayne posse on your back if it was :lol:.

I know he's talking about an LR 90 Clive because its cost me a bloody fortune to turn my LC 90 into "a road going tractor" , i'd say that description only fits an 80 for someone who never spent any time at sea .

Hi Karl, I didn't like the colour when I first started looking but soon was happy to broaden my range. There are not many LC80's for sale really are there? But you see quite a few about on the roads. Must be a good sign!