Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

New Car - Intro and a few questions

BenjiCarlos

Country Flag
uk
Hello there, just purchased a very nice 1991 Land Cruiser 4.2 1DHT VX Jap Import. Everything works in it and the engine and chassis are lovely. Only covered 87k miles as well.:wtf: All in all very surprising compared to my younger RRC which is for sale if anyone is interested? gumtree.com/p/cars-vans-motorbikes/94-land-rover-range-rover-classic-vogue-se-39l-v8-efi/1130804960 My plan is so do some overlanding with the car and hopefully spend many a happy year with it!

Anyhoo, a couple questions regarding the car as I am new to Land Cruisers.. (be kind)

1. My air con didn't seem to be working and nor did the engine revs increase when turned on (light goes on) so I popped the bonnet and found the belt wasn't on. So I loosened the tensioner, back on it went, 2 minutes later it snapped. Ooops! Maybe I tightened it a bit too much but that aside, when I turned the aircon on it still never changed the engine revs, could the pump be goosed?
Also is the fridge/freezer in the armrest (which isn't very comfortable) run off the aircon system also?

2. I have read that a new 3" exhaust from the turbo back (silencers or straight through?) is a great upgrade as I have noticed torque off the line not to be as good as the 3.9 V8 RRC? Where can I get me one of those delivered to bonnie Scotland or is it best to get a custom one made?

3. There is a bit of a rust bubble which is actually rather large on the top tailgate on the corner of the window. Is it cheap enough to get a new tailgate or will I be better off taking it to the paint shop?

I shall upload some pictures this evening as I haven't taken any yet!

Welcome!