Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

New to this and in need of advice.

mike smith

Country Flag
australia
Hello out there. This is my first time on this site and i need some advice.

I am thinking of getting a Cruiser on duel fuel. I currently drive a Mercedes ML500 2004 model. My son is into drag racing and needs help with towing. He took the Merc to Sydney towing his car and had no problems, with live in Canberra.

Now he has several trips to competitions in Queensland. I am thinking of changing the Merc to a cruiser, my daughter got one with very high mileage on it for towing the horse float, plus 5 kids, they are not in the float.

My question is this, and i probably know what you will say, get rid of the merc. Am i better off looking for a high mileage Cruiser on duel fuel or should i continue with the Merc, its just clicked over the 150k mark. I picked up my daughters car for her from Melbourne and i was so surprised at the smooth running and fuel efficiency and thats what got me hooked. I have been told that running gas on a Cruiser can cause the engine to run hot, is this right.

Any help would be most appreciated.

Apart from welcoming you to the forum Mike, I'm not the best person to advise.

A well maintained Cruiser shrugs off the miles, but I know nothing of duel fuel, but other members do. Maybe they'll be along soon to advise.

Glad to hear the kids don't ride in the horse float :lol:

Hi Mike and welcome. You've certainly found the best friendliest forum to help you find a Cruiser. Which model cruiser are you looking at? I'm guessing a 100 series or perhaps an 80. Like Clive, I'm no expert on dual fuel but I have heard that the valves suffer on LPG but there is a valve oiler which is better. How much better I don't know but others may do.