Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

Rear light problems

Oli.g

Country Flag
england
Hi ive had a problem with my tail lights on my collie for a while, its coming up to mot time so decided to buy new ones..

I used to have very dim tail lights and with lights on only one side lit up but all brake lights worked. Lights turned off my top and the opposite side lit up as a brake light.

Just fitted my new ones after digging out a gardem full of mud from my rear bumper and noticed there is barely any of the metal bumper bracket/reinforcement left (rust)

Do the tail lights need to be bolted to that metal braket to earth or do they have an earth wire on the harness or something? As you cam tell im no mechanic

Thank you for any help

Hi mate classic earthing issue this sounds like. Yes they certainly need an earth from somewhere if not from the loom then they must have a metallic connection to the body. Remember a multimeter is of little use here, the connection from bulb to earth will seem fine on a meter but the second you try and put 2A or so from a taillight on it you'll get the symptoms you see.

And
Hi mate classic earthing issue this sounds like. Yes they certainly need an earth from somewhere if not from the loom then they must have a metallic connection to the body. Remember a multimeter is of little use here, the connection from bulb to earth will seem fine on a meter but the second you try and put 2A or so from a taillight on it you'll get the symptoms you see.
And by body I just mean anywhere on the body does not have to be your rusty bracket but if you want to clean that up there's no problem using that. Sometimes though it's just easier to run a wire from the body to the lights

I think the bit you mean is just reinforcement and unnecessary . Remember your tow socket is pretty much a third light so a short caused by rot in there will affect things .

Thank you for your reply!