Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

Replacing the Diesel Pipes on a '95':

BobMurphy

Country Flag
scotland
Replacing the DieselPipes on a 1998 KZJ95 ‘Colorado’

I have been running the ‘95’ for six years and I knew that the diesel pipes were corroding towards the rear where they are not protected by the plastic undertrays.

The pipes are steel with a sort of varnish covering, which was split and peeling off. It was one of those jobs that I intended to get around to one day :whistle:.

DSCN3239_zps5c466920.jpg

Anyway, while I was working on replacing the diesel tank in my 100-Series I was a bit concerned to see drips on the tarmac under the ‘95’. It looked as though I was going to be replacing two tanks now.

Investigation showed that the Spill Return pipe had rusted through above the tank and had been leaking over the tank and rear axle. The feed pipe looked almost as bad but being a suction pipe didn’t have any internal pressure.

DSCN3238_zpse54b18a6.jpg

I had replaced the tank guard four years ago and it was in good shape. It was, however, in the way so I removed it. This allowed me to have a good look at the tank which still had paint in places and seemed to be OK.

All I needed to do then was replace the pipes .

There are three pipes at the top front of the tank. The Diesel Feed and Spill Return we know about. The third is from a one-way valve in the tank that vents into a filter-like unit that’s held in a black plastic housing. It can be seen in the picture. The pipe looked OK so I left it alone, it’s the one on the left.

DSCN3235_zps169880b8.jpg

The diesel pipes take a tortuous path to the front. Once under the front passenger seat where they are protected they are OK, so I decided to cut them there. They are the upper pair in the picture . . . . Don’t go cutting the Brake Pipes by mistake :hand: !