Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

Tapping noise from front when turning under power

StarCruiser

Supporter
Guru
Garage
Country Flag
uk
Hi all, time to introduce myself (well a bit more officially as I have posted a few times elsewhere recently). I'm Richard, based just outside Bognor Regis and have had an import 81 since 2004 with around 120k on the clock now. I'm an electrician by trade but work on most things.

Anyway, recently I have noticed a tapping sound coming from under the front of the truck when I turn right. Happens more under power and sounds like someone tapping an upturned yoghurt pot repeatedly with a pencil and is road speed related and multiple times per wheel rotation. And seems to be getting worse.

Investigation so far:-

Not wheels rubbing or anything like that.
Greased all UJs, still the same.
Drained and refilled front diff oil, some greenish contamination but this is first time it's been changed in 60,000 miles. Still same.
Am now in the process of pulling the CV joints. Got the near side one out yesterday and apart from being easy to move (not tight like new but not slack either) cannot see anything immediately obvious. Due to fully clean today and pull the other side. These have been out before around 20k ago and so far don't show any signs of being any different.

Before pulling apart, I jacked up one wheel and with no diff locks in, I rotated the wheel back and forth. There was probably 30 degrees of movement taking up the backlash in the drivetrain back to the transfer box, beyond which the auto box was in park. I seemed to get a few taps from the near side wheel hub but difficult to tell so decided to pull to have a look. Which has, of course, made it snow here [emoji45].