Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

The Love Jeep

Ell Jay 78

Country Flag
great_britain
Hi, my name is Dylan and I've been a mechanic for 30 years. I've always had a huge respect for Toyota mechanicals. Last Christmas I indulged my desire for an early 90's Land Cruiser.
I bought a metallic blue Japanese spec LJ78 2.4 auto.
I was determined not to buy another rusty restoration project, I know from previous experience that I've ended up with a couple of great vehicles but the grinding and welding process doesn't put me in my happy place. Here's the 69 Alfa 1750GTV that was so rotten it needed every body panel replacing when I bought it and everyone said it would never see the road again. They were wrong and the result was the preservation of a beautiful sporty Italian coupe. There were many dark times when I wished I had never set eyes on the rusty Italian piece of s##t, but it came good in the end.
IMG_0898.JPG

The Land Cruiser I bought is fairly rust free....happy days!
When I collected it and drove it the 50 miles home I had one eye on the temperature gauge, waiting for it to squirt pressurised coolant all over the M6 and do its best impression of a kettle. I was pleasantly surprised how well it cruised at motorway speeds and even more pleasantly surprised that my engine wasn't aware of the head cracking problem that I head read so much about on the internet.
IMG_3396.jpg
I was disappointed to find out the 4 wheel drive didn't work so I replaced the front hubs with manual ones.
I was even more disappointed to find out the locking diff rear axle had been changed for a standard one.