Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

What to buy

Matthew1955

Country Flag
wales
Hi All,I am looking to get an LC again after a number of years probably 10-12 years old.I am no mechanic so would be getting anything a bought serviced and repaired at Mr Toyota.I have read about problems with the Air suspension so is anyone able to let me know when the system was changed from springs to the Air system or am I worrying unduly Also, could anyone give recommends for what to go for around the 12K mark? It will never go off road but I do live in a fairly remote part of West Wales and can get a lot of snow in some winters, will also do a number of longish distance motorway journeys,probably only looking to do around the 10K miles a year
thanks in advance.

Snow 020.JPG

Almost certainly the 120 3.0d4d unless I can be persuaded otherwise. A mechanic I know suggested that unless I was doing a min of 20k miles a yr I should go with petrol but I have always had the 3.0 and think I should stick with that

It all depends on what you need really. i have the 3.0 d4d auto 120 and cant fault it. i do less then 10k a year and only use it weekends and family trips. which it does with ease. good for trips to the tip etc.

the only thing to check for is the injector seal problem. certain years had different washers that can leak and let the exhaust gases back into the oil which leads to the pick up in the sump clogging.
and check the usual corrosion underneath.

the the lc3 and lc4 have coils springs all round and the lc5 has the rear airbags. but i dont htink they give much trouble so shouldnt put you off a purchase. also the lc5 has the built in satnav screen and climate control which makes it awkward if you want to upgrade the stereo.

Welcome aboard Mathew, lived in West Wales for 10 years before moving to South Wales, lovely part of the world, whereabouts are you?

Can't advise on the "newer" Land Cruisers, so I'll leave that to others.