Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

105 new engine - ceramic pistons

justrollin

Country Flag
australia
G'day members - I'm on my second 1999 105 series GXL manual. I love the vehicles. At 190cm and110K find it so comfortable and non of that beeping crap etc etc! I had to sell the first when I was out of money - big mistake as it was mint.

The one I have now the engine blew after I'd had it a few months. I've been buying and selling cars for 30 years and had done due diligence, but that's the way it goes.

I had it rebuilt by a well known reputable company. After diagnosis they told me and showed me a part melted piston and said the injectors were partly to fault. It had previously had LPG added to give more power I believe, removed before I bought it and is turboed - still has a DTS turbo which they said is fine.

It was rebuilt with ceramic pistons and brand new head, injectors and injector pump. I picked it up and did the first 1000 or 2000ks with turbo disconnected, then went back and they reconnected turbo at 10 pounds. I drove it for a month or so then asked if turbo could be increased safely. They increases to 17 pounds and said that is fine - any higher would need an intercooler.

After that, I got even unluckier than just the engine blowing! It needed new alternator, new air conditioning unit, new starter motor and it already had a new radiator. So a lot of what is under the bonnet is new. I have since changed the gear and trans oil, and diff oils.....gearbox seems ok.

BUT - as the ceramic pistons etc are not standard spec and I can't find others who have done this yet - I can't get much confidence in it. Given what I have spent on it I want to keep it and use it. It spends relatively few ks on road as I ride bikes as my daily.

So any general thoughts on:

1. With the current spec is it likely to last and can I trust it to go to remote locations? We all know how reliable the 1HZ is - but now I just need to rebuilt confidence!