Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

bob59

Country Flag
uk
we have owed our 1996 Toyota land cruiser Colorado LWB 3.0 TD diesel for almost 18 years, ( 2nd owner ) we have been hardly using the " the old girl " over the last 5 years,
she has had a real easy life ( no off roading )
I know I should have had her serviced more reguly, but as she always starts, & the little use she got, ( 35000 in 10 years ) we did not pay for her to get serviced.

I am 60 this year, so I have decided to keep the old girl & try & learn new skills, while the grey matter still in tac, & make a project of keeping her going.

I have no experience of car mechanics & would appreciate any recommendations or advice from experience members on this site, I will not know the
correct wording for parts etc but will try & learn as I go along,

weather permitting, & I can just still crawl under her ( no ramps ) I will perform a oil change this weekend, I have already purchased a Toyota oil filter & sump washer,
would anyone know what the torque setting is for the sump bolt ?

I also need the big hose that comes from the air filter as this is split open - Toyota want over £ 100.00 for this, is there some where else I can buy one or should I stick with Toyota ?

Hello Bob and welcome to the club.I'v no idea what the torque setting is for the sump plug , i just nip it up buy seat of the pants setting as i learnt as a youth..Also make sure you change the washer on the bolt.The air box intake pipe split on mine years ago & i just gaffer taped it up .every service i check the tape. You might be able to get something similar from a industrial supplies place? some photos of your Landcruiser would go down well in here - we love photos !

Hi Goodoldboy, Thank you for reaching out,
The gaffer tap is already on there , when I removed the air filter box, the rubber split even more, so it needs replacing, I have ordered one from rough trax,