Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

New to a Diesel engine

Country Flag
australia
I recently purchased the 2005 series with only 150K km on the clock and absolutely love it. I’m new to Diesel engines and would love to know more about the pros and cons of this particular engine and what preventative measures I should be taking to keep it running smoothly for as long as possible. Thanks!

Hi Ozzie, welcome to the forum. Being out there you will not be plagued by the dreaded rust that so many suffer. In a way it would have been better for you to ask the question regarding the d4d beforehand. Injectors/seals, scv, etc. If you look in the 120 section on here you will find loads of info that's been covered before. Some love them, some hate them with a vengence depending on experiences. Have a read and ask away !

Hey Tractionman, thanks for your response. My engine is the model before the D4D and hence the question as there is so much info about the D4D. I know mine doesn’t have the injector issues but it also has less power than the D4D. It seems to be a note basic engine which will have its pros and cons. I’m trying to connect with people who have experience and insight into this engine. There is heaps of great Info on here so I will keep reading around and asking questions. Thanks mate!

Hi Ozzy.
Your 3.0 litre non d4d engine i first encountered in a 70 series which was the first LC i owned.
Personally i prefer your version, the mechanical injection system proving totally reliable, ideal for low engine speed work, if yours is the same you will find it almost impossible to stall such is the almost unlimited low speed torque on hand.