Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

80-Series - No forward drive

BobMurphy

Country Flag
scotland
Hi, I'm a stranger to this Forum as I have a 90 and a 100 . . . However . . .

A neighbour just phoned, he has a friend with an 80, petrol Auto.

The 80 was taken to a garage for an MOT test; they put it on a brake tester (rolling road !) and after that it would only move in reverse.

It seems the garage has now had the truck for seven months while they scratch their heads and wonder what to do next.

Did I have any ideas ??

My initial thought was an Auto Box problem. If it was Transfer Box it wouldn't move in either direction (Unless there is something in the 80 Transfer box I don't know about).

I then wondered about the 'lock-up' mechanism in the torque converter, could this have a 'one way' mechanism that is faulty ?

I suspect the problem is in the Auto Box, but I'm no expert on those things.

Any thoughts you experts ??

Bob.

I would suspect that the VC didn't like having the rear wheels stood while the front ones were being driven by the rollers. Just a guess.

They shouldnt put it on the rollers as its permanent four wheel drive. However, not sure why that would cause the issue.

I've read of the VC failing and giving both full lock up and no drive at all but never in just one direction, ditto the transfer box. My moneys on the auto box as it's the only component with asymmetric directional operation but it's a guess.

I have had a VC fail and it locked up solid, front prop shaft removed and I drove it as a rear wheel drive for a bit.
If it’s got reverse the transfer box should be ok.
I have had the front axle drive flanges just about making contact and they do drive until some force is applied then they slip.
Is the gearbox oil level correct?
Torque converter lock up has its own solenoid, not sure it’s used for reverse?