Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

Correct Engine Oil

Great Outdoors

Country Flag
ireland
Hi
What is best engine oil for a 1998 reg KZJ 95 ? Synthetic or semi synthetic. How many litres does it take, and should I change oil every 5K miles or 10K miles ? (no off road driving)

Thanks.

I'm no expert on that engine GO, but I would suggest to avoid fully synthetics on higher mileage engines.

No doubt, someone will come to your rescue soon, with more definitive information... :icon-biggrin:

I use 10w40 semi synthetic in mine - have done every 7-8 thousand miles for the last 150k. Its what toyota spec for the 1KD - which isn't that different really

Hi

10w40 Semi is the way to go.

Milners and Roughtrax sell it, I think Roughtrax is the branded Toyota stuff as well.

6 litres.

I def notice a difference after an oil change, so I aim for every 5000miles.

Oil costs £21, filter about £5, so cheap enough to make it more frequently.

I have changed the diesel and air filters annually, but if its all road use on UK fuel I wouldnt bother with either, just spin the air filter round.

Diff oils are another simple job (rear is really easy, but front does require some contortion and a couple of foot of pipe so you can refill it from above.

Gearbox oil easy to take out (and well worth doing) bit slow to refill though as it has to go down the dipstick tube. (asssuming its auto). This is important to do as it lets you check that the 'box isnt contaminated with coolant from the rad.

Rad top up - dont add water or blue collant, use Toyota red, again Milners or Roughtrax.

More info than you wanted......

Cheers

Pete

The oil from Roughtrax is branded Toyota :thumbup:, just bought some from them

Richie

Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them
Hi Bob from Carlow. I thought Toyota spec for the 1KD engine 5W30. Thats what it says in the owners handbook I have. Mines a 2001 D4D. Tyrone here.!!