Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

Differential grinding noise when parking - Prado 97 3400 V6

Is it normal that i could not turn and rotate the front shaft by hand? I saw another 4wd truck (not a prado) in the service shop and its front shaft can be rotated.

I've been reading this thread and thought it was review time!

It happens during parking when the car is moving really really slow.Something like 1-3 kph. The sound could be heard when I turn the steering wheel(even slightly) to the left or to the right, when going either forward orbackward;

2. The sound goes something like 'kroog kroog kroog kroog' and it goescontinuously as the wheels turn. The sound seems prominent at the back part of the vehicle;

I am a newbie with 4wds but after some googling on the net, I also readabout CV joints thinking that it may be the possible culprit. However, I lookedat the CV boots but they all seems good;

It does not sound as I steer. It makes the sound asthe car rolls. Do you still think it is the power steering?

It does not make the sound when going straight (eitherforwards or backwards);

It makes thesound when I steer startingaround 40 degrees either to the left or right, the sound stops when my steeringreaches 180 degrees OR when I accelerate and go 15 kph and faster;

The sound occurs even when slightly stepping on the brakesor slightly engaging the hand brakes;

The sound occurs even when I have the car on neutral - aslong as the car is running slowly and the wheels turned either left or right;

The sound occurs regardless whether I have it set on LL, HLor H;

Rear diff is not locked but I feel a slight resistance whenI start to turn it.