Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

FZJ80 Body moldings saught

mattid

Country Flag
south_africa
Greetings all

I'm a complete newbie and fresh to this forum, so consider this post to be dual purpose; to introduce myself and to seek some help in finding some bits.

I'm Matt, living in sunny Cape Town and a recent adopter of a good running but fairly beat-up 1993 FZJ80. I think the car started life in Aus before being "grey-imported" into SA. She has about 380,000km on the clock and has not had a particularly easy previous life. I believe she was well looked after mechanically but the previous owner wasn’t concerned with cosmetics, so her body work wasn’t pretty.

I found her a year ago, bought her on a whim and now, for some indiscretions in a prior life, I’ve decided to restore her.

So far the restoration has gone really well and, to be honest, Toyota South Africa have been a fantastic source with a seemingly endless range of original parts - quite surprising really, given the age of the vehicle. I have, however hit a little snag with body moldings (stock pic attached for reference). The four long door sections are still available from Toyota SA but the four shorter fender moldings have been discontinued (not even avaiable out of Japan). I see on eBay that there are plenty of options out of China but I’d really like to try and stick with originals for this part of the work, so I’m reaching out to see if anyone has ideas on where I can locate an complete unused, original set.

And also just to clarify, the vehicle HAS fender flares attached, I believe there are two versions of these molding; with or without flares.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Cheers

Matt

Attachments

• e09cbe7a-32e7-408f-9513-9c9757a24338.png
    e09cbe7a-32e7-408f-9513-9c9757a24338.png
    585.8 KB · Views: 13
HI and welcome.