Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

Greenhorn cruiser owner

931hz

Country Flag
australia
G'day guys, I'm completely new to cruisers and I'm picking up my first next weekend.

It's a 93 1hz with after market turbo.205,000
The car will be used to travel Australia and from what I've been told it's not a bad make to do it in..

My first question is a simple one.

The current owner can only tell me that it's not a gxl, so how do I find out the variants of the car. ( gx, dx, STD.. Hj80 or what ever all those numbers are lol)

Trying to find specs for this car is a pain without knowing specifics.

Also what are common problems that I should pay attention to before setting out on travels.. Thanks in advance guys look forward to the time I'll be spending here, cheers

Hi Kyle, I think once you have posted the required 15 times, if you post a photo or two of your truck then there's a good chance folks on here will recognise what trim level it is.

Hope you enjoy your new 'Toy'(ota), they're great trucks and go on forever if looked after.

It looks like this is a double post, no problem it happens from time to time, maybe admin can delete the other.

I'm not going to be too much help on this, but it seems to me that each market around the world has its peculiarities.

UK models seem to be fairly uniform through the range, whereas mine is supposed to be a European spec, and I imagine yours to be an OZ spec.

There's a lot of info available from the VIN and although I can't help you decode it, there's a lot of info on decoding VINs on google.

Mine is a 1995 HZJ 80 - GX and it's pretty basic compared with UK models, but the UK had HDJ 80s as far as I know.

I don't have a turbo and my limited knowledge is that the 1HZ and the 1HD are different engines, so it's good to hear your turbo was professionally fitted, because it may be that you could otherwise run into some problems. There's quite a lot on IH8MUD
about retrofitted turbos.