Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

Hello LandCruiser Club

Wills

Country Flag
great_britain
Hi all,

My name is Will Leith, I'm new to the world of LC ownership - I've been lusting after a 70 series for a long time and have finally got around to buying one of my own:

IMG_4130_zpseax9sfqk.jpg

I've used all sorts of 4x4s for work, in various strange and wonderful places. I've broken down more times than I can count, had more flat tyres than is sensible - burned through $1400 AUD worth of tyres in an afternoon once... Out of all of these cars though, the most memorable ones were the 70 series Landcruisers. Theyre not the prettiest, not the fastest or most powerful or indeed the most comfortable, but they are the car that has given me the least grief in extreme places where you really can't afford to break down. I had a new company 78 series troopie V8 when I worked in Australia and a new 76 series 4.2 six-pot in Ethiopia. If I could, I would, believe me.

I just bought this one - The price was good but it needed some love and attention.

image1_zpsr9xmnrur.jpg

IMG_4145_zpsuv7e5ckq.jpg

Its the LJ78 with the baby 2L-TE engine. It is the EX5 spec car imported to the UK from Japan in 1998.

I've seen various posts from other people that have this car and have modified it tastefully, even in the glorious two tone brown - REX - and I have aspirations to slowly improve my one in a similar fashion over the coming months and years. Could anyone suggest a good roof rack that could accommodate a tent? Also I'm keen to replace the front bumper with a winch bumper - can anyone suggest a suitable bumper/winch combo?