Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

Hi newbie here

LC80tim

Country Flag
england
Hello my name is Tim and live in the midlands and no spring chicken at nearly 57 lol, I have just purchased a 1992 Landcruiser VX uk spec 80 series with 189k and will soon be doing some mods on it to make it more capable for laning.
At the moment it's pretty standard apart from 285/75/16's and bull bar that's coming off as soon as I get a winch bumper, got snorkel and lift kit ordered already and got some jiobs to do like get rear locker working and a cv to do.
I'm not new to the laning as been doing it for some years but in a disco ( that is very modded including lockers f/r ) got experience in planning trips and routes over a lot of the country including doing a couple of coast to coast trips.
I'm a mechanic by trade so will be doing all my maintenance but not much experience with the landcruiser so will be scanning the forums and asking a few questions along the way, cheer in advance Tim.
A piccy of my new purchase next to my current disco :)

20161026_164450_zpsyj3xhybo.jpg

Welcome Tim. TBH there isn't much you need to do to an 80 to make it capable for laning. They'll cross the Sahara straight out of the box. IMHO a snorkel is money largely wasted unless you truly intend to submerge. Standard depth is 700mm to begin with. That's pretty deep.

Glad to hear someone has fitted lockers to a Disco. Usually the money get spent on pointless stuff. Winch and lockers are the last things on most owners lists. It looks the dogs!

Just make sure its had the BEBs done or it could be a short ride.

Nice intro and a good looking 80 there Tim, welcome to the forum :thumbup:

Welcome aboard - I'm agnostic as far as 4x4 goes - got an 80 series, Sprinter 4x4, Landy 110... :)

Great forum this - many, many great people...