Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

ignition barrel

abia

Garage
Country Flag
greenland
Hello,

i am very new to this land cruiser forum, just bought my very first cruiser a couple of days ago, 90 series 1996 3.0 TD.
the thing is there is only 1 key and it is very worn, today the key wont turn anymore might be some inside the ignition barrel being stock and a very worn key.
the thing is i have had a hilux 1994 and the ignition can be taken off the barrel, and does not on the 90 series.
i have sprayed some wd40 in it which does not help at all. and i accidently hit a white component at the bottum of the barrel.
question is, is it possible to replace ignition assembly with a second hand if i can get hold on this or does everything have to be coded?
any other suggestions of how to do?

*on the picture the black ring is not on, i know it have to be on.

Attachments

• igntion.jpg
    igntion.jpg
    255.1 KB · Views: 29
Last edited:
hi i had a similar issue, you can remove the lock barrel and take out a couple of the lock leaf components and this will allow your old key to keep working.
google it there are walk throughs online about this.

have a look here

I'd try getting a new key cut before anything else, if possible. I got a new key cut at my local key cutting place (complete with transponder), which solved a similar problem years ago and has worked ever since.

I Will try to take the barrel out, i could Press the pin on my Old hilux but seems to be impossible on the lc, i where is it i have to drill and Should the key still be on the ACC?

I had a new key made today did not help top much, the barrel turned twice but it is too worn.

The video is a Big help thanks alot.

Video helped alot, now the car is running again but the ignition barrel were apperently broken so i had to remove all of the pins in the barrel.

Now the thing is how big of a job is it to replace the barrel its self with a used part? How about programming the key?