MM and Netbook, still no go

Paul

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2010
Messages
2,465
Garage
Country Flag
england
Well as some know i bought a Netbook to run MM on with a USB antenna.
Started working in my lounge but keeps locking up or "not responding" so i installed everything on my Vaio and all is good so i thought it was the antenna, bought a different antenna and still no good but good on the Vaio.
Could it be that the Vaio is running on Vista and the Netbook is on Windows 7?
 

Crispin

Administrator
Staff member
Guru
Joined
Feb 24, 2010
Messages
6,004
Country Flag
great_britain
Have you tried the latest drivers for each version (Vista / W7)? Download them from the manufacturers website.
 

Paul

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2010
Messages
2,465
Garage
Country Flag
england
Yep, the discs didn't want to run properly and turns out both antennas are from prolific so downloaded it directly.
 

Julian

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 9, 2012
Messages
692
Paul, so whats the netbook?
have you got the maps loaded on the on-board drive or are you running them on a USB drive?
Which version of Win 7 is it running?
Does the netbook run normally when doing other stuff? Internet etc?
Have you got AV software on it?
J
 
Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

Paul

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2010
Messages
2,465
Garage
Country Flag
england
Running full MM from the hard drive (150gb)
Everything runs fine including internet, music and videos
Its a HP Mini 210-1000 with ATOM N450 @ 1.66GHz, RAM 1.00 GB with Windows 7 starter
System Type 32-bit operating system

Don't know about AV stuff, do you mean anti virus? If so it has norton.......i know i know.......but it came with it.
 

Julian

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 9, 2012
Messages
692
Paul, first off 1gb is pretty low, but first think to try is to turn off the Anti Virus (AV) software completely and run Memory Map and report how it runs.
I can have it a look at it over the weekend if you want
 

Jon Wildsmith

Super Moderator
Supporter
Guru
Joined
Feb 24, 2010
Messages
6,738
Garage
Country Flag
england
What is 'not responding' ? The whole computer, Memory Map or the GPS?
 

TonyP

Super Moderator
Supporter
Joined
Feb 25, 2010
Messages
3,291
Country Flag
uk
I have just got my GPS (Prolific 2303 based) working on a Win 7 machine (well on two actually) and in the end after a lot of messing about I found that the Vista drivers were the only ones that would work.

The install driver is called "PL-2303 Vista only Driver Installer.exe" and the version I have is 10.50.0.125 file size is 1.96Mb. PM your email addy and I will mail it to you to try.

Also there is a nifty google tracker app that you can use to test is. Direct download is here http://download.cnet.com/3001-12940_4-1 ... 861e9b11bc

Cheers
 

Paul

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2010
Messages
2,465
Garage
Country Flag
england
Re: MM and Netbook, now a go

Well i have bitn the bullet ad bought a toughbook, installed MM and now using to even drive to the shops :lol:

So then, who is very familiar with MM? Any chance of someone doing a training session, could be for a group :think:
 

Chas

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2010
Messages
17,313
Garage
Country Flag
england
Re: MM and Netbook, now a go

Paul said:
So then, who is very familiar with MM? Any chance of someone doing a training session, could be for a group :think:
Ooh, yes please :clap: , I've got MM but not too sure about how to use it :oops: .
Chas
 

ignat

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2010
Messages
524
Garage
Country Flag
south_africa
I've only got MM trial version - but I am looking to buy either MM Europe or OziExplorer. I've scanned in loads of paper maps for west africa. Wouldnt mind having some tutorial on how to use it but suppose I could figure it out myself after a bit
 

Crispin

Administrator
Staff member
Guru
Joined
Feb 24, 2010
Messages
6,004
Country Flag
great_britain
While I'm no master I could show you (at Salisbury Plain?) how to set it up for real-time tracking with your GPS, adding your own routes and way-points and following them. Adding overlays (other people's routes) and following them. I have not yet scanned my own maps and calibrated them. The version I have does not support that :( . I did find a way, or tutorial rather, on how to calibrate satellite imagery and use them.
 
Top