Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

Newbie member saying hello n'stuff!

Big Wigg

Country Flag
france
Hi folks.
I thought it time to introduce myself. My name is Cameron, I live in central France and have a 2001 Landcruiser KDJ95 D4Dautomatic. I live in the middle of nowhere so working out and overcoming problems is an absolute must! I’ve been avoiding getting under the car for many years but as I will have to do all maintenance and repairs from now on, I confess to actually quite liking the challenge. I’ve been following other member’s escapades and tribulations and am very grateful for member’s posts, experiences and photos. From a mechanical view point I would describe myself as competent but rusty / unpractised for a very, very long time! I’ve just renovated all the brake calipers which I’ve never done before. I cleaned all the metal work with a needle scaler which did a fantastic job. Should have taken some photos. As time allows, I’m going to do all the underneath of the car as it’s clear that none of these things get better with age. I’m going to de-rust and paint/treat/copper slip/lubricate anything and everything believing prevention is better than bruised and bleeding knuckles and sheared off bolts! Any advice on products, dos and don’ts etc. is welcome

I have a few questions to which I have not found any definitive answers yet and apologise in advance if I have just not found the relevant threads.
Does the D4D engine have a timing belt or timing chain? I’m hoping not to have to do anything in this department!
Does the KDJ95 have a pollen / cabin filter? The chap who used to service it said he couldn’t find one but I’ve seen conflicting reports.
I want to get a workshop manual(s) or at least a book of exploded diagrams for engine and body. Does such a thing exist and if so where? I’ve seen the manuals from OZ but they do not cover the D4D engine. Any advice would be appreciated.