Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

Differential grinding noise when parking - Prado 97 3400 V6

More information would probably help ... as in as much information you can possibly tell us about the sound and what is happening when it occurs ;)

More information would probably help ... as in as much information you can possibly tell us about the sound and what is happening when it occurs ;)

Thanks for the reply grantw.

It happens during parking when the car is moving really really slow. Something like 1-3 kph. The sound could be heard when I turn the steering wheel (even slightly) to the left or to the right, when going either forward or backward. The sound goes something like 'kroog kroog kroog kroog' and it goes continuously as the wheels turn. The sound seems prominent at the back part of the vehicle.

I am a newbie with 4wds but after some googling on the net, I also read about CV joints thinking that it may be the possible culprit. However, I looked at the CV boots but they all seems good.

The diff lock isn't engaged is it?
Or a mudflap adrift of its mounting perhaps?

Mudflaps are secured firmly. I have the shifter at H.

I have also checked the LSD oil at the rear differential and the level is ok and it still looks ok (reddish color not black)

Are you sure it isn't the power steering making the noise? Might need bleeding.

Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them
I had a similar problem until i changed the front anti roll bar bushes , heres a pic stolen from a thread by Fridayman , see it all here http://www.landcruiserclub.net/forums/showthread.php/41756-Front-Anti-Roll-Bars
SDC10342.jpg

Here are some additional info:

- It does not make the sound when going straight (either forwards or backwards)
- It makes the sound when I steer starting around 40 degrees either to the left or right
- The sound stops when my steering reaches 180 degrees OR when I accelerate and go 15 kph and faster