Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

1996 1kz-te Prado RX

Delder85

Country Flag
new_zealand
Hi team, just a quick post to welcome myself.

Absolute novice with no idea but am loving the learning and troubleshooting with the help of this forum.

I have a 1996 1kz-te Prado RX which loves to stall when the mechanic/sparky isn't here, and won't stall for them when there are. Anyway, will keep reading and learning from you all.

Cheers

Welcome here Delder ,electrical problems are never easy to diagnose but i'd start with pulling every connection in the engine bay and cleaning it .

Cheers Shayne, have ready many a thread in here with your knowledge and advice. A sparky gave all contacts a good clean and it ran perfect for 6 months, so that was my first port of call. Getting to the accelerator sensor seems to be tricky one to get to, and potentially a really dirty one. All else fails, I am thinking about by-passing the SPV relay as the next hail mary.

Thanks again for the welcome.

Is it an auto ?

I'm lost with electrics but i seem to remember Beau mentioning a sensor or some such on the gearbox ?

Nah is manual. I have had it running for 30min yesterday and today (with quick 2km trips to get the revs and speed up etc) and it ran smoothly. Not convinced the gremlins are gone!

Spill control valve have been known to fail around 150k miles

Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them
Yeah, I am wanting to troubleshoot and rule out everything that's quicker/cheaper/easier fix than the spill control valve or injection pump. The Denso shop here want $3k for a reconditioned pump (installed), or $600 for the SPV on it's own (they said they wouldn't replace just the SPV for me).

I did find one of the wires on the SPV was stripped/exposed... so have taped that up, just in case there was some small shorting or something happening with engine vibration.