Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

Buying a HDJ80R.. Or Building?

James

Country Flag
england
Hello everyone, I am completely new to cars let alone Land Cruisers and that is why I'm here.

If you lot don't mind, I have quite a few questions about the HDJ80 series of Land Cruisers. I know absolutely nothing about LC's or really cars in general so apologies if some of what I'm talking about
sounds silly or is just something that can't be done, I just don't know but I have a dream! haha. I have always loved Land Cruisers (my Dad owns a UZJ100 and it's what I learned to drive in) however
I have only just got in to off roading as my best mate just got his first car a Jeep Wrangler so our camping trips have gone from hiking to our camping sites to off roading to them and it's been a blast.

So obviously I'm pretty addicted to 4WD now and I would really like my own 4WD and by the looks of things (to me at least) the 80 Series Land Cruiser is the best especially the diesels so I'm pretty
set on getting my hands on a turbodiesel 80 series Land Cruiser if I can save up enough to buy one in few years!

Unfortunately though my quick looks at the listings all show 200,000Km+ cars a lot even scraping up on Half A Million Km which I suppose is tribute to just how great these vehicles are but I am hoping
to get something with a lot less mileage on it. So that said here are some of my questions:

• Is it economical/possible to buy a HDJ80R that's in ruff shape, fix it up and buy a brand new 1HD-T and pop it in so I essentially have a brand new HDJ80R?
  • What kind of mileage should I be looking for in a second hand if what I've asked above is not possible?
  • What mods are considered a must be done? (for example but not to say it must be done, I just helped my mate install a 3" lift with 35" MT's which has made off roading a lot easier)