Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

Found another use for the 80 today!

MikesVX80

Garage
Country Flag
great_britain
Rescue vehicle last week (http://www.landcruiserclub.net/forums/showthread.php/54716-Landcruiser-to-the-rescue!), this weekend it turned its hand to being a mobile work bench! :)

IMG_1641.JPG

I am a joiner by trade. My 80 is my only car, its my van, its my motor home for holidays, it tows a 14 foot trailer for my log deliverys. It does everything really.

I am a joiner by trade. My 80 is my only car, its my van, its my motor home for holidays, it tows a 14 foot trailer for my log deliverys. It does everything really.

It is a very versatile vehicle! :)

So I assume that your 80 is growing on you now and you are starting to enjoy it a bit more Mike?

Slowly but surely! I think once the EFS kit is installed that will be a real transformation in terms of drive. There's still some things I'd like to improve but not sure how - more driver legroom would be nice for starters! Also the legroom in the middle row of seats is tiny given the size of vehicle (much less than in my 3-Series BMW, for instance)! I guess that shows how far modern interior ergonomics have come along.

But overall it definitely goes better now, and will handle and ride much better soon too. The brakes are still lacking, so would like to improve those somehow too, actually!

Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them
The brakes are still lacking, so would like to improve those somehow too, actually!

I fitted DBA discs to the front of mine and I use Mintex MDB1695 (or whatever the equivalent is) pads with them and the brakes feel much improved, however I hasten to add that I try not to use the brakes unless I have to, I try to practice engine breaking as much as possible, that and carrying the speed through the corner so I can limit excessive acceleration ;)

....much less than in my 3-Series BMW, for instance....