Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

Hi all I'm a newbie

Kieron

Country Flag
uk
hi all
i have just bought my first Amazon 100
it is a 2004 model
i have noticed rust on upper tailgate, boot light stays on when indoor position even after doors are shut, Any ideas on how to sort these problems ???
no doubt I'll be back soon with plenty of other questions
cheers Kieron in the UK

Hi Kieron,

Welcome to the forum.

Rust on tailgate, depending on severity is a body shop job (IMO).

Light stsying on will be due to a door switch not being pushed (unlikely) door not shut (possibly) or more likely a cable trapped and earthing down to the body. Check for any modifications which have had screws inserted that could have caught wiring. You could try taking the door switches out and seeing if the light goes out.

Best wishes

Richard

Welcome to the forum Kieron.

As Rich (Star Cruiser) says, some systematic isolation might narrow it down. On my 80, the door switches work when you test them, but only 2 of the 4 operate the light and those same 2 doors show up on the 'door open' dash indicator.

It's very confusing to me, I hate electrickery....

Hi all
thanks for the warm welcome
I'll investigate the switches for the interior light
re modifications ....a rear spoiler was fitted in the last few months so this may be the guilty party
regarding the rusting tail gate How does the water get there to cause the rust ?
if it needs a respray etc is it necessary to remove the back window etc or is it a case of removing the reg plate lights , rub don etc
is there a good place for getting parts cheaper than the local Toyota garage ???
first thing to replace are the two very tired looking reg lights
Regards all
Kieron in The Peak District

Welcome Kieron, good trucks 100's, but they are prone to rust in certain areas, the tailgate being one of them. Take it to the local Toyota dealers as the 100's had a recall on the tailgate issue, they may well replace it.