Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

manual gearbox for 1994 80 series

Steve10

Hi

Does anyone have one for sale or know where I maybe able to get one from?

thanks

Steve

Try Karl Webster or Steff on here. Rare as hen's teeth though really.

Chris

Hi Steve,

I'm guessing your looking for a manual gearbox, to convert your auto 80 series to a manual, and get rid of your problematic auto box?

I pulled,this quote:
Jon Wildsmith said:
Putting a manual in will mean you need to swap the diffs as well not just the box, they use different ratios and a manual will struggle with auto diff gears.
From this thread: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=12269&hilit=+manual+auto+diff
Jon Wildsmith said:
manual is 3.7, auto is 4.1
I hope that's of some help. It's certainly not impossible to convert, but you'll need a few extra bits, and to take into consideration the affect the diff's will have on the gearing.

Regards.

I'm not very good at all that ratio stuff Scott - what effect would it have? I mean which way? If this vehicle is going to be converted into some sort of swamp monster for example with oversize tyres say 35 - 37 what would happen then? Would it double the trouble or actually be going the right way for Steve?

Chris

That statement of mine is the wrong way round really - a manual on an auto gears will be over geared on standard tyres so not good for cruising but would be ok with bigger tyres. It's an auto on gears from a manual that would struggle, especially if you then put over sized tyres on.

Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them
Jon - Sorry if quoting your previous posts doesn't read correctly, I did a search and your posts were the ones that came up, as your quite knowledgable/experienced on the subject. (Feel free to edit the post so that it doesn't cause any confusion).