Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

Portuguese built color codes

Sensh

Hi all! I'm a newbie here, and started by searching, but can't find any thread that helps answer my first question:

I live in Spain, and have a 1991 BJ73, built in Portugal by Salvador Caetano. The vehicle is silver (or something very close to silver) with a white roof, and the factory paint code stamped on the VIN plate is "401." But I don't see any listing for 401 in any of the 70-series paint code lists, and if I google "Toyota color 401" or something, the only thing that keeps coming up is "Pluto Beige Metallic," which I really don't think is my color.

Does anyone know what Toyota called this color? Anyone know where there might be resources for Portuguese Toyota VIN decoding, etc? The pickings seem rather thin...

I have attached photos of the VIN plate and the vehicle, so you can see the codes and what the color looks like.

Thanks in advance!
- Paul

right_high_1.jpgvin_plate.JPG

Can't help with the paint codes but that's a nice looking truck. Got any more pics/info?

welcome BTW.

I will check the paint computer in the morning which every colour across the globe .... Well almost :)

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

I will check the paint computer in the morning which every colour across the globe .... Well almost :)

Oh, that would be huge, thank you!!

Mblinko, thank you for the kind words! It's a 1991 model BJ73, made in Portugal. It has the 2.5L Italian-made "VM" turbo diesel engine (the same engine as found in the Range Rover "Turbo D" models of the same era. It is not a well loved engine, because of a tendency to leak from the head gaskets if overheated, but I have owned a few of them now over the years, and I have found them to be woefully underrated engines. In the Land Cruiser the VM feels punchy and torquey, and the smoothness and refinement is much, much better than most turbo diesels of the time. I may be alone, but I am a big VM fan.