Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

Western Sahara - jan & feb 2011 - quick report

vrecha

Again a month out there, this time we went exploring the territories that tourists usually don't touch: the inlands of the Western Sahara.

Regarding Morocco, the plan was to drive it as quickly as possible, partly because our main focus was souther and partly because we don't like opportunistic locals that Morocco in known to be filled with. I studied some guidebooks, also the ones from Chris Scott, to have some idea on which routes and spots the masses of tourists gather so we could avoid them. It paid off well. On our whole trip, we were not a single time asked for a "cadeau", but instead enjoyed in pristine relations with locals, were often invited to share a meal or a tea with them, without any expectations of paying for it. Of course we donated some items we carried with us for such opportunities, sometimes we exchanged some goods and all the time we had much fun in their company. We found them to be relaxed and have a good sense of humour. Knowing a little French, a few Arabic phrases and souther, in WS, Spanish, helps a lot with communication.

Some pictures from WS with comments follow.

I've heard the WS in mostly rocky desert. It certainly looks rocky from the asphalt road Laayoune-Dakhla, but inlands you can find a lot of ergs and you can do a lot of sand driving of different difficulties. Of course, travelling alone, with just one vehicle, you restrict yourself to the safe side and avoid big challenges.

ws11_010.jpg

ws11_020.jpg

ws11_070.jpg

Than you have large sandy plans.

ws11_030.jpg

Sometimes the going becomes too soft and you decide to take another course ...

ws11_060.jpg

The silence, the landscape, the solitude, isolation ... "awe-inspiring, jaw-dropping" as my desert traveler ideal, Tom Sheppard, says.

ws11_190.jpg

When you encounter lots of these ...

ws11_080.jpg