Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

1986 HJ60 - seeking advice on purchase

RJP

Country Flag
united_states
I am new to the Land Cruiser world...owner of old Jeeps, Muscle cars, and motorcycles. But I have forever yearned for either a Land Cruiser 60 or Defender 110. I am now in the position to purchase a 1986 HJ60. I took a look at her today. She has a few spots on the roof where rust was repaired and a pin hole on the rear window that still needs to be fixed. I checked underneath, fender wells, fender lips, bottom of doors and found nothing. The diesel runs with only a quick puff of black smoke on start up (nothing when revved). The current owner has replaced the head, rocket arm assembly, radiator, and clutch slave. He also redid the glow plug system with German 24V plugs and had the injectors cleaned and tested. For its age, it is in good shape. She needs a paint job as the last one was done poorly. The interior is not great, but not horrible either. It does NOT have Air Conditioning. It does have power brakes, steering, and clutch. But the windows and doors are manual. It has 490,000KM (around 280,000 miles). He is asking around $9000. So...my question is this a fair price and what nightmares should I expect:) Many thanks in advance, I truly appreciate your thoughts.

Rob