Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

Bj73 vm 5 cylinder steering box

Username

Country Flag
spain
Hello all,
I have been having a bit of trouble with the power steering on my BJ73 with the infamous 2.5 VM 5 cylinder engine. Since I'm just a part-time weekend mechanic, I was wondering if steering boxes are unique to each engine, or if there are several types which could be mounted.

Every year it seems a bit harder to find parts for the 5 cyl. VM so I need to expand my horizons.

Thank you!

Mike

I bought my first BJ73 more than ten years ago. Now on my 3rd. It's a long learning curve.

If you put your chassis number into this site you should get exploded diagrams of every system on the truck with part numbers.

My understanding of steering boxes is there are several Toyota 4x4s that use the same box.

This is a video of the steering box off an 80 series being serviced. I'm pretty sure its the same or near identical to the one used on 70s. I'll be able to tell you for sure as mine is due to be serviced this winter. I've got the service kit.

If there is too much play in your steering it can be adjusted by nipping up the slot head grub bolt on top of the box. Back off the locking nut and tighten bolt clockwise a quarter turn at a time until you feel play being reduced. Over tightening can damage the box but unfortunately I can't tell you what constitutes over tightening. I have only done it once. My guess is that its over tight if you start to feel any resistance.

Good luck

Hi outdoordan,

Wow, on your third in ten years! Was it to upgrade the engine each time? I tend to hold on to things for too long, I've got old machines/electronics tucked away in closets that I've already fixed up or plan to in the next...few years.