Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

factory rear bumper mods

lockie

Country Flag
australia
I added some reverse lights to my factory bumper on the weekend (picture below).
wasn't too much of a job, apart from I had to take the tow pack off to access the bolt holes for the lights., and upon doing this i thought to myself, I wonder if anyone has ever incorporated the tow hitch into the factory rear bumper.
I'm no engineer but it looks as if it would be possible to add some extra support... so my question is, has anyone done this or seen it done??

image1 (1).JPG

Yeah Ive tried that on my last 80, you will find the holes are slightly wider than the holes on your tow ball.

AND

The cross member is only 3mm thick. Once I did elongate the holes to fit the ball, the first recovery saw the bolts get pulled through and bend the metal. Only way round this would be making up a reinforcement plate and welding it in but then the rest of the section is thin.

The holes are there for fitting the top of a drop plate to I guess.

I figured that may have been the case.
I'm not that handy with a welder so I don't see myself re-inforcing
Ahh well, at least for now I can see when I'm reversing!

You can fit a mod type tow hitch on the rear cross member.

Fine for towing.